Log in

Join   Renew   Donate

The Daniel McCarthy Conservation AwaRD

The Conservation Award was established by ARARA in 1991 to recognize significant contributions to the conservation or protection of rock art and renamed in 2022 the Daniel McCarthy Conservation Award.

Consideration will be given to an individual, group, organization, or agency that has taken a leadership role in significantly contributing to protect or preserve a major rock art site or series of sites from an identified and serious destructive impact, or to cause legislative, educational, administrative, or other action that significantly promotes rock art conservation or protection.

The recipient's efforts to incorporate the participation and advice of Native Peoples into their work will be valued.

The Conservation Award can be made to more than one recipient within the same year and a recipient need not be a member of ARARA.

The Conservation Award may be made to an individual for work that was a normal part of his or her employment or professional activities; similarly, it can be made to a group, organization, or agency for work that was a regular part of its operations.

A Conservation award recipient can be honored more than once for additional conservation and/or preservation efforts.

A written nomination summarizing the contributions of the proposed recipient shall be signed/approved by no less than five members in good standing or members of ARARA's Advisory Council.

Nominations will be accepted any time prior to January 31 by the Awards Committee Chair.

An award recipient will receive a $500 award and certificate at the ARARA conference

Past recipients include (award not given in years not listed):

  • 1992: Getty Conservation Institute

  • 1993: Bureau of Land Managment Carson City (Nevada) District

  • 1994: Comte Robert Begouen and Family, France

  • 1996: Mila Simoes de Abreu, Portugal

  • 1997: United States Army, Fort Carson Command

  • 1998: Archaeological Society of New Mexico Field School and Ike Eastvold

  • 1999: Evelyn Billo and Robert Mark

  • 2000: Cultural Resource Department of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department and Peter J. Pilles, Jr., and the Sedona Ranger District of the Coconino National Forest

  • 2001: Janine McFarland and Stephen Horne of the Heritage Resource Department, Los Padres National Forest

  • 2002: Matthias Strecker and the Sociedad de Investigación del Arte Rupestre de Bolivia (SIARB) (Bolivian Rock Art Research Society)

  • 2003: Barbara Sturgis, Dick Huntington, and Gene Dennis of the Verde Valley Chapter, Arizona Archaeological Society

  • 2005: Katherine Wells

  • 2008: Bay Area Rock Art Research Association (BARARA)

  • 2009: Nine Mile Canyon Coalition, National Trust for Historic Preservation, and Colorado Plateau Archaeological Alliance

  • 2010: Pam and Quentin Baker

  • 2011: Dick Hill of the Bureau of Land Management Idaho Office and Tom Bicek, Director of Celebration Park

  • 2012: City of Ivins, City of Santa Clara, and Bureau of Land Management St. George Office for Santa Clara River Reserve

  • 2014: Mike Bies

  • 2015: Terri Robertson

  • 2016: The New Mexico Wilderness Alliance and The Friends of Organ Mountains Desert Peaks National Monument

  • 2017: Andy Kallinen with Horsethief Lake State Park and the Picture Canyon Core Group, Flagstaff, AZ

  • 2019: Leigh Grench
  • 2020: Janet-Lever Wood and Janine Hernbrode
  • 2021: The Archaeological Conservancy
  • 2022: Archaeology Southwest (William Doelle and Aaron Wright)
  • 2023: Diana and Steve Acerson

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software