Join   Renew   Donate

The Castleton Award

This award is for excellence in an original essay, video or audio presentation in heretofore unfunded rock art research.

Consideration will be given to work that exhibits originality and thoroughness of investigative work in rock art research and has not been previously published, in whole or in substantial part, nor has been funded. Nominees do not need to be ARARA members but must agree to present their material at the next ARARA conference.

A written nomination including a resume and a copy of the essay, video or audio presentation should be received by the Awards Committee Chair prior to January 31. The Awards Committee will determine the award recipient, get approval for this award from the ARARA Board, and communicate the decision to the Presentations Chair for the next conference.

An award recipient will receive $1000 and a certificate at the ARARA conference.

Past recipients include (award not given in years not listed):

  • 1983: Paul Faulstich Spirits on the Rock: Symbol and Structure in North Queensland, Australia, Rock Paintings.
  • 1985: Judith S. and Jesse E. Warner To Slay a Dragon.

  • 1988: William Breen Murray Antlers and Counting in Northeast Mexican Rock Art. Special Recognition: Mary K. Allen New Frontiers in Rock Art: The Grand Canyon.

  • 1991: Ronald I. Dorn Paleoenvironmental Signals in Rock Varnish on Petroglyphs.

  • 1996: Marian Hyman and Marvin Rowe Plasma-Chemical Extraction and AMS Radiocarbon Dating of Pictographs

  • 2003: Reinaldo Morales, Jr. Nordeste Rock Art and the Ekwimyatipa

  • 2008: David and Charlotte Lee Finding Yidumduma

  • 2015: Chloe Berghausen The Writing on the Walls: Neolithic Rock Art at the Ness of Brodgar

  • 2017: Margaret Berrier (Marglyph) Looking at an Old Dog With New Tricks: Review and Documentation of Jaguar Cave, A Unique Painted Shelter in West Texas

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software